Christmas & Hanukkah Dogs

Happy December, everyone! Time to get fully in the swing of the holidays, and I’m doing my part by sharing these cross-stitches that I made almost exactly one year ago.

photograph of a cross stitched square with the words '2014' and 'merry christmas' surrounding a dog with a red collar

photograph of a cross stitch square with words '5775' and "happy hanukkah" in Hebrew surrounding a dog with a blue collar

These are two sides to an ornament I made last year for my parents. One side is for Christmas and the other for Hanukkah. The dog is designed to look like their dog, Claire.

claire, a dog

This is Claire

I think I got the colors and the ears pretty close. I colored the Aida cloth with acrylic paints & Martha Stewart fabric medium, which worked fine to color it, but did make the fabric very stiff and harder to work with. Also, it was probably not a great idea to make the Christmas background green and the text red. But my parents have another (additional) dog now, so I will have to make another set of ornaments for 2015!

What are you stitching up for the holidays?

Leave a comment

Filed under 2014, Cross Stitch, Finished Projects

Leave a Reply

