Finished: Handmaid’s Tale Embroidery Hoop

I took a break from cross stitch to do some regular embroidery and made this tiny (5 inch) hoop with a quotation from Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale:

photograph of embroidered hoop on grey fabric with red letters that read "nolite te bastardes carborundorum"

The hoop says “Nolite te bastardes carborundorum,” which is fake-Latin for “Don’t let the bastards grind you down.” It’s a phrase the features somewhat prominently in Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, which is one of my favorite books ever. I need to put it on my re-reading list.

The technical specs for this piece:

  • Pattern: self-made in Adobe Illustrator
  • Fabric: Grey printed quilting cotton from Joann Fabrics
  • Thread: 2 strands of DMC 321 (all back stitching)
  • Hoop: 5 inches
  • Time spent: 1 afternoon

I am not actually as thrilled with this piece as I thought I would be. It’s nice, but when I was finished I just thought ‘meh.’ Don’t hate it, don’t love it. Don’t know what to do with it now. I think I’m going to stick with cross stitching.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2015, Embroidery, Finished Projects

Leave a Reply

