Flower of the Month: March

I’ve started a new cross stitching project: the flower of the month. The patterns are from Ellen Maurer-Stroh, who has some great free patterns. They’re more traditional than the cross stitch I usually do, but more traditional is good sometimes.

Anyhow, I have finished the first flower, for March, just in time:

fotm-march

March’s flower is the jonquil, a kind of daffodil that is native to Europe. The daffodils around here start coming up early in March, after the crocuses, so this is a very fitting flower for the month. There are still daffodils blooming around town, as well as other bulb flowers, like tulips.

I altered the pattern ever so slightly, omitting the backstitching that it called for because I tried doing it and it didn’t look good. I also added the month name in the border in DMC 3345, using the chart I posted last week. The stitching is done in two strands on 18 count antique white aida cloth. All the months are going in their own blocks on a single piece of aida. I haven’t figured out what I’m going to do with it when I’m done. Pillow? Hang it on the wall? I have eleven months to figure it out, I guess.

Next month: the sweet pea.

3 Comments

Filed under 2015, Cross Stitch, Finished Projects

3 responses to “Flower of the Month: March

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Old and New | PDX-stitch

  2. Pingback: Flower of the Month: April | PDX-stitch

  3. Pingback: Flower of the Month: February | PDX-stitch

Leave a Reply

